Category Archives: Melodic Death Metal

DARK TRANQUILLITY Interview 2/14/14

We had the opportunity to share a beer, some laughs, and important information with the extremely personable and iconic Mikael Stanne of Dark Tranquillity. During our chat we discussed the current state of the band after the departure of Daniel Antonsson (bass) and them touring with pre-recorded bass tracks for their live shows. We chatted about their unique tour stop in Puerto Rico and how the experience felt playing for all these Boricua metalheads in that beautiful island. We then talked about many aspects of the Construct album including a period of ‘writer’s block’ and its influence on the themes for this album. Mikael expanded on the band’s songwriting dynamics for this album as well. We then traveled back in time to the perennial topic of the Gothenburg sound that will forever be attached to this band. We explored Mikael’s thoughts on the state of this metal wave including past, present, and future notions. We also take another trip down memory lane and review the many metal hats Mikael has worn while inquiring into future collaborations. For last, we briefly discussed future plans for the band.

Soilwork: Interview & Live Footage 4/12/13

Dirk Verbeuren of Soilwork graciously let us bug him with a few questions while discussing the etymology of the band name, the origins of (their mascot) the ‘Sledgehammer Messiah,’ a detailed discussion about The Living Infinite, guitarist David Andersson’s contribution to the band, North American 2013 Infinity Tour impressions, Dirk’s current music endeavors including his multiple projects and upcoming releases, plus he shares some thoughts on conservationism and animal rights.

Soilwork Interview – Apr. 12th, 2013 – Denver, CO

“Spectrum of Eternity” Live 4/12/13

Swallow the Sun: Interview & Live Footage 9/18/12

Carlos Reali of interviews Juha Raivio of Swallow the Sun at the Gothic Theatre in Englewood, CO on Sept. 18th, 2012.
Primary live footage filmed by Carlos Reali

Cathedral Walls


Psychopath’s Lair

Mikko Kotamäki – vocals
Juha Raivio – guitars
Markus Jämsen – guitars
Aleksi Munter – keyboards
Matti Honkonen – bass
Kai Hahto – drums